Sabbatical Leave for Central Government Employees
Sabbatical leave is absent from the CCS (Leave) Rules 1972. Only four instruments grant it: UGC Clause 8.3, CSIR 17.5, ICAR Chapter 21 and IIT Statute 27.
Sabbatical leave is absent from the CCS (Leave) Rules 1972, so an ordinary central government employee has no sabbatical entitlement, and the leave exists in the central space only under four separate instruments: Clause 8.3 of the University Grants Commission Regulations 2018 for university and college teachers, Section 17.5 of the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) rules for its scientists, Chapter 21 of the ICAR Administrative Manual for Agricultural Research Service scientists, and Statute 27 of the First Statutes of the IITs, 2017 for institute faculty.
The word sabbatical is used loosely, and the assumption behind most searches for it is that a paid break for research sits somewhere in the leave code. It does not. The Department of Personnel and Training compilation of the CCS (Leave) Rules 1972 carries the word nowhere across Rules 1 to 66. What it carries instead is study leave in Rules 50 to 63, which is tied to a recognised course, and extraordinary leave, which is unpaid.
The four schemes that do grant sabbatical leave share a shape and differ in the numbers. Each is for academic or professional improvement rather than a prescribed qualification, each runs for at most one year at a time, each pays full salary, and each sits outside the ordinary leave account. They differ on the years of service that open the door, on how often the leave comes round, on the career ceiling, and on what the person may earn while away.
This article states each scheme against its governing text, sets the four side by side in one table, and then places sabbatical leave against study leave, which is the instrument an employee outside these four cadres actually uses.
No provision in the CCS (Leave) Rules 1972
The CCS (Leave) Rules 1972 contain no head of sabbatical leave. The rules run to 66 numbered provisions and enumerate the kinds of leave admissible to a central government civilian employee: earned leave under Rule 26, half pay leave under Rule 29, commuted leave, leave not due and extraordinary leave among the ordinary kinds, casual leave outside the leave account, and a set of special kinds in Chapter V that includes special disability leave at Rule 45, seamen’s sick leave at Rule 47 and departmental leave at Rule 49. Chapter VI, Rules 50 to 63, is study leave. Nothing in the sequence is a sabbatical.
That absence is deliberate rather than accidental. The study-oriented leave the rules do provide is fenced to a course. Rule 50(1) allows study leave so that the employee may undergo, in or out of India, a special course of study consisting of higher studies or specialised training in a professional or technical subject having a direct and close connection with the sphere of the employee’s duty. Rule 50(2) extends it to a course of training or study tour certified to be of definite advantage to Government from the point of view of public interest. Neither limb reaches open-ended research chosen by the employee.
Rule 50 also gates entry. The employee must have satisfactorily completed the period of probation and rendered not less than five years of regular continuous service including the probation period, must not be due to retire within three years of the expected date of return to duty, and must undertake to serve the Government for three years after returning. Rule 51 caps the quantum at ordinarily 12 months at any one time and 24 months during the entire service, inclusive of similar leave for study or training granted under any other rules.
University and college teachers under UGC Clause 8.3
Clause 8.3 of the UGC Regulations 2018 grants sabbatical leave for one year at a time and two years in the entire career of the teacher. The governing instrument is the University Grants Commission (Minimum Qualifications for Appointment of Teachers and other Academic Staff in Universities and Colleges and other Measures for the Maintenance of Standards in Higher Education) Regulations, 2018, No. F.1-2/2017(EC/PS), notified on 18 July 2018 and published in the Gazette of India, Extraordinary, Part III Section 4, No. 271 of the same date, in supersession of the 2010 Regulations, No. F.3-1/2009 dated 30 June 2010.
Eligibility is stated in Clause 8.3(i). The permanent, whole-time teachers of the university and colleges who have completed seven years of service as a Reader, Associate Professor or a Professor may be granted sabbatical leave, to undertake study or research or any other academic pursuit solely for the object of increasing their proficiency and usefulness to the university and higher education system. Three limits are built into that sentence: the post must be permanent and whole-time, the seven years must have been served in the senior grade rather than across the career, and the purpose must be academic.
Pay is settled by Clause 8.3(iii). A teacher on sabbatical leave is paid full pay and allowances, subject to the prescribed conditions being fulfilled, at the rates applicable immediately before proceeding on the leave. Clause 8.3(v) adds the two consequences that matter over a career: the teacher draws the annual increment on the due date, and the period counts as service for pension or contributory provident fund, provided the teacher rejoins the university on the expiry of the leave.
The application clause decides who is inside the scheme at all. Clause 1.2 applies the 2018 Regulations to every university established or incorporated by or under a Central Act, Provincial Act or State Act, to every institution including a constituent or affiliated college recognised by the Commission, and to every institution deemed to be a university under Section 3 of the University Grants Commission Act, 1956. The reach is therefore wider than the central government, covering state university teachers as well, and narrower than education, stopping short of schools. A central university gives Clause 8.3 effect through its own Ordinance or Statute, which is the text a teacher reads before applying.
The five-year bar after study leave
A teacher who has taken study leave becomes entitled to sabbatical leave five years after returning, not never. Clause 8.3(ii) of the UGC Regulations 2018 reads that a teacher who has availed himself or herself of study leave would not be entitled to the sabbatical leave, until after the expiry of five years from the date of the teacher’s return from previous study leave or any other kind of training programme of duration of one year or more. The bar is a waiting period measured from the date of return to duty.
The widespread description of the two as mutually exclusive comes from the earlier drafting. Clause 8.3(iii) of the 2010 Regulations stated flatly that a teacher who has availed himself or herself of study leave would not be entitled to the sabbatical leave, and then added, as a separate proviso, that sabbatical leave shall not be granted until after the expiry of five years from the date of return from previous study leave or any other kind of training programme of duration one year or more. The 2018 notification collapsed the flat bar and the proviso into a single five-year condition, and the 2010 Regulations stand superseded.
The reverse proposition, that taking sabbatical leave closes off study leave, appears in neither text. What does the work in the 2018 Regulations is Clause 8.2(iii), which grants study leave to an entry-level appointee as Assistant Professor, Assistant Librarian or Assistant Director of Physical Education and Sport, expressly other than as an Associate Professor or Professor of a university, college or institution who is otherwise eligible for sabbatical leave, after a minimum of three years of continuous service. A professor does not lose study leave by taking a sabbatical. A professor was never the intended recipient of study leave in the first place.
CSIR scientists under Section 17.5
Section 17.5 of the CSIR rules grants sabbatical leave to Scientists C and above who have rendered not less than six years of service in CSIR, for a maximum of one year, once in six years. The scheme was approved by the CSIR Governing Body at its 124th meeting on 24 September 1991 and circulated by CSIR-HRDG letter No. CSIR/SK/SL/91 dated 16 December 1991. The leave is for scientific or academic work at any relevant institution in India or abroad.
Four numbers define the entitlement. Six years of service in CSIR opens eligibility. Six years is also the interval, and the leave is granted once in that period provided the scientist has not gone on a deputation, assignment or study leave of one year or longer during the preceding six years. One year is the ceiling on any single spell, and a shorter spell is permitted. Three years of service must remain after the sabbatical ends, which is what keeps the scheme from operating as a paid run-up to retirement.
The pay and duty treatment is unusually favourable. The scientist is paid full salary and allowances as would otherwise have been admissible, retains council accommodation on the same terms as other employees, and, for all purposes, has the period treated as time spent on duty, though without entitlement to travelling allowance. The leave may be taken while the scientist is receiving a fellowship from CSIR or any other organisation, so external funding does not displace the salary. Where the scientist proceeds abroad, CSIR carries no financial obligation, medical expenses included.
The guards sit on the other side. Sabbatical leave cannot be combined with any other leave. The scientist furnishes a letter of acceptance from the host institution and gives an undertaking, before proceeding, to use the leave for the bona fide purpose sanctioned and not to accept any commercial employment during it, and to refund the salary paid during the leave if he or she resigns within three years of rejoining duty. A detailed report on the work done and the objectives accomplished follows the return.
Widening the CSIR scheme to the innovation chain
The CSIR Governing Body extended sabbatical leave beyond science and academia on 29 July 1993. At its 131st meeting, while considering the recommendations of the Mashelkar Committee on marketing the knowledge base, the Governing Body approved a modification under which the facility of sabbatical leave, then available for work of a scientific and academic nature only, was extended to include work on other activities in the innovation chain: industry, consultancy organisations, financial institutions, project engineering firms, and technology marketing or transfer agencies. All other conditions of the 1991 scheme were expressly left unchanged. The decision was communicated by CSIR letter No. CSIR/SK/SL/91/HRDG dated 13 July 1994.
The practical effect is a route no other central sabbatical scheme offers in the same terms. A CSIR scientist may spend a sabbatical year inside a consultancy organisation or a technology transfer agency, and the year still counts as time spent on duty at full salary. The bar on commercial employment in the 1991 conditions continues to apply, so the distinction is between working on an activity in the innovation chain under sanction and taking a paid job, and it is the sanction under Section 17.5 that separates the two.
ICAR scientists under Chapter 21 of the Administrative Manual
Chapter 21 of the ICAR Administrative Manual grants sabbatical leave for a maximum of one year, twice during the entire career, once in ten years. The scheme covers academic, scientific, technological and other related activities at any relevant institution or organisation in India or abroad, to enable academic and scientific staff to promote their professional competence, against a list of institutions that ICAR circulates and updates.
Eligibility turns on grade, service and residual service. The leave may be granted to a scientist in the Senior Scale, which the manual identifies with the pre-revised Rs. 3,700 to 5,700 Reader’s scale, and above. The scientist must have rendered not less than six years of service in ICAR or a State Agricultural University, must not have gone on deputation or assignment or study leave for one year or longer during the preceding ten years, and must have at least five years of service left before superannuation after the sabbatical ends. That five-year residual requirement is the strictest of the four schemes.
Pay follows the CSIR pattern with one addition. The scientist draws full salary and other allowances as would otherwise have been admissible on a regular position, and the period is treated as time spent on duty for all purposes without entitlement to travelling allowance or daily allowance. Where the scientist receives no fellowship or travel grant, a lump sum not exceeding Rs. 50,000 is payable from AHRD or Cess Fund support towards the cost of travel and incidentals to and from the host institution. A scientist spending the leave in a foreign university or laboratory may also receive subsistence allowance and travel expenses from the host, in addition to the ICAR salary.
The conditions mirror the CSIR undertaking. Sabbatical leave cannot be combined with any other leave, may be availed while holding a scholarship or fellowship from ICAR or any other national or international organisation, and carries an undertaking not to accept commercial employment during the leave and to refund the salary and emoluments if the scientist resigns within three years of availing it to join an institution outside the National Agricultural Research System. Official accommodation continues on the same terms. The Director-General, ICAR is the competent authority, and the institution forwards the application with its recommendations at least four to six months in advance, together with the host institution’s undertaking.
IIT faculty under Statute 27 of the First Statutes
Statute 27 of the First Statutes of the IITs, 2017 makes sabbatical leave admissible after six years or more of continuous service in the institute, for not more than one year at a time and not more than three times in the entire service. The First Statutes of the Indian Institute of Technology Mandi, 2017 were published by notification G.S.R. 975(E) dated 31 July 2017, framed by the Council with the prior approval of the Visitor under sections 26 and 27 of the Institutes of Technology Act, 1961 (59 of 1961), and the newer IITs carry the same numbering. Where the faculty member has been on special leave or deputation for a year or more, the six years is counted afresh from the return.
The objects are listed rather than left open, and the list is broader than the UGC formula. Statute 27(3) permits sabbatical leave to conduct research or advanced studies in India or abroad, to write text books, standard works or other literature, to visit or work in industrial concerns or technical departments of Government to gain practical experience, to visit or work in a university, industry or Government research laboratory in India or abroad, and for any other purpose for the academic development of the teaching staff or faculty member approved by the Board of Governors.
The conditions in Statute 27(4) fix the money and the obligation. The period shall not exceed one year at a time including vacations, though the Board may grant in addition any other leave up to a maximum of 120 days that the member might have earned during service at the institute. The member is paid full salary and allowances admissible under the normal rules, but is not entitled to any travelling allowance or extra allowances in India or abroad. No substitute is appointed against the vacancy, and the work is shared by other members of the faculty. The member may not undertake any regular appointment under another organisation in India or abroad, and is free to receive a scholarship, fellowship, bursary or ad hoc honorarium other than regular employment. A bond in the prescribed form to serve the institute for a minimum of three years on return to duty is a condition of the grant.
The IITs sit outside the UGC scheme by design. They are Institutes of National Importance under the Institutes of Technology Act, 1961, governed by statutes framed under that Act, and Statute 13 of the First Statutes lists sabbatical leave and study leave as separate admissible kinds alongside earned leave, half-pay leave, commuted leave, hospital leave, quarantine leave and child care leave. Statute 28 gives IIT study leave its own shape, at a maximum of 24 months in the entire service and ordinarily 12 months at a time, which tracks Rule 51 of the CCS (Leave) Rules.
The four schemes compared
The table sets out the four instruments that grant sabbatical leave in the central space, each against its own governing text. It is a salary-calculator.in construction, assembled from the four separate instruments named in the last column, since no single government order states them together.
| Feature | UGC teachers | CSIR scientists | ICAR scientists | IIT faculty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Governing text | Clause 8.3, UGC Regulations 2018 | Section 17.5, CSIR rules | Chapter 21, ICAR Administrative Manual | Statute 27, First Statutes 2017 |
| Who is covered | Permanent whole-time teacher, Reader, Associate Professor or Professor | Scientist C and above | Scientist in Senior Scale and above | Teaching staff or faculty member |
| Qualifying service | 7 years in the senior grade | 6 years in CSIR | 6 years in ICAR or a State Agricultural University | 6 years continuous in the institute |
| Maximum spell | 1 year | 1 year | 1 year | 1 year, plus up to 120 days earned leave |
| How often | Not stated as a cycle | Once in 6 years | Once in 10 years | Not stated as a cycle |
| Career ceiling | 2 years in all | Not stated | Twice | Three times |
| Residual service required | Not stated | 3 years after the leave | 5 years before superannuation | Not stated |
| Pay | Full pay and allowances | Full salary and allowances | Full salary and allowances | Full salary and allowances, no travelling allowance |
| Combination with other leave | Not barred in terms | Barred | Barred | Board may add earned leave |
| Bond or refund | Not stated | Refund if resignation within 3 years of rejoining | Refund if resignation within 3 years to leave the National Agricultural Research System | Bond to serve 3 years on return |
Two entries in that table read “not stated” and are worth reading as written. The UGC Regulations 2018 fix a two-year career ceiling but prescribe no interval between spells except the five-year bar that follows study leave, and they attach no bond. The CSIR scheme fixes an interval and a residual-service requirement but no career ceiling. The differences are drafting choices by four different bodies, not an implied common rule, and a reader in one cadre cannot carry a condition across from another.
Pay, increment and pensionable service
Sabbatical leave is paid at the full rate under all four schemes, and none of them reduces it the way half pay leave or extraordinary leave would. The UGC formula in Clause 8.3(iii) is full pay and allowances at the rates applicable immediately before proceeding on the leave. CSIR pays full salary and allowance as would otherwise have been admissible. ICAR pays full salary and other allowances as would have been admissible while serving on a regular position. The IIT statutes pay full salary and allowances admissible under the normal rules, and expressly withhold travelling allowance and extra allowances in India and abroad. Because leave salary is on the full-pay basis, dearness allowance follows it.
The increment is protected in the UGC scheme by name. Clause 8.3(v) allows the teacher to draw the increment on the due date during the period of sabbatical leave, so the increment cycle is not pushed back by a year’s absence.
Pensionable service is protected on a condition. Clause 8.3(v) counts the period as service for purposes of pension or contributory provident fund, provided that the teacher rejoins the university on the expiry of the leave, so failing to return is what breaks the count rather than the absence itself. CSIR Section 17.5 and Chapter 21 of the ICAR Administrative Manual reach the same result by a different route, treating the period as time spent on duty for all purposes, which carries qualifying service with it and withholds only travelling and daily allowance.
Sabbatical leave is not debited to the ordinary leave account under any of the four schemes. Statute 13 of the IIT First Statutes 2017 lists it as a separate kind of leave alongside earned leave and half-pay leave, and the CSIR and ICAR duty treatment has the same effect. A year of sabbatical therefore does not consume the earned leave balance that funds leave encashment at retirement.
Outside earnings, bonds and refund obligations
Every scheme bars regular outside employment during the leave and permits academic funding. Clause 8.3(iv) of the UGC Regulations 2018 states that a teacher on sabbatical leave shall not take up, during the period of that leave, any regular appointment under another organisation in India or abroad, and then permits a fellowship, a research scholarship, or an ad hoc teaching and research assignment with honorarium or any other form of assistance, other than regular employment in an institution of advanced studies. Where such assistance is received, the Executive Council or Syndicate may, if it so desires, sanction the sabbatical leave on reduced pay and allowances, which is the mechanism that stops full salary and a second income running together.
The CSIR and ICAR schemes draw the line at commercial employment rather than at reduced pay. Both permit the leave to be availed while the scientist receives a scholarship or fellowship from the parent body or any other organisation, national or international, without any reduction in salary. Both take an undertaking before the leave begins that the scientist will use it for the sanctioned purpose and will not accept commercial employment during it. The IIT statutes follow the same pattern, leaving the faculty member free to receive a scholarship, fellowship, bursary or ad hoc honorarium, other than regular employment.
The refund obligation attaches to leaving, not to the leave. Under Section 17.5 a CSIR scientist who resigns within three years after rejoining duty refunds the salary paid during the sabbatical. Under Chapter 21 an ICAR scientist refunds the salary and other emoluments if he or she resigns within three years of availing the leave to join an institution outside the National Agricultural Research System, which is narrower, since a move within that system does not trigger it. Statute 27(4)(e) requires an IIT faculty member to furnish a bond in the prescribed form to serve the institute for a minimum period of three years on return to duty. The UGC Regulations attach no bond to sabbatical leave, though Clause 8.2(xiv) requires one for study leave.
Comparison with study leave
Study leave is tied to a course and sabbatical leave is not, and that single difference drives every other one. Study leave under Rule 50 of the CCS (Leave) Rules 1972 requires a special course of study consisting of higher studies or specialised training in a professional or technical subject having a direct and close connection with the sphere of the employee’s duty, or a certified course of training or study tour. Sabbatical leave under Clause 8.3(i) of the UGC Regulations 2018 requires study or research or any other academic pursuit solely for the object of increasing the teacher’s proficiency and usefulness, which the teacher defines by the programme proposed.
The populations differ as sharply. Study leave under Rules 50 to 63 is open to any central government civilian employee who has completed probation and five years of regular continuous service, which is most of the service. Sabbatical leave is confined to four cadres, each of which requires six or seven years in a senior grade. An employee reading a comparison of the two is usually in only one of the two sets.
The quantum runs the other way. Study leave is capped by Rule 51 at ordinarily 12 months at any one time and 24 months during the entire service, inclusive of similar leave for study or training granted under any other rules, and Rule 54(2) limits the total absence in combination with other leave to 28 months generally and 36 months for a course leading to a PhD degree. Sabbatical leave is one year at a time under all four schemes, and the UGC career ceiling of two years exceeds the CCS study leave ceiling of 24 months only in that it is not inclusive of other training leave.
The bond is the third axis. Study leave under Rule 50 requires the employee to undertake to serve the Government for three years after returning, executed as a bond under Rule 53, and Rule 63 governs resignation or retirement after study leave and non-completion of the course, which is the rule under which the leave salary, fees and expenses are recovered with interest from the date of demand. The study allowance once listed among them was removed from Rule 63(1)(i) by DoPT Notification No. 13023/1/2017-Estt.(L) dated 1 January 2018. Sabbatical leave carries a bond in the IIT scheme only, and a refund obligation triggered by resignation in the CSIR and ICAR schemes. For a university teacher the two instruments are alternatives separated by five years rather than stages of one entitlement, and for a professor the choice is largely made by Clause 8.2(iii), which points study leave at entry-level appointees.
What school teachers, ordinary employees and All India Services officers use instead
A school teacher in Kendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan or the Navodaya system has no sabbatical scheme, because Clause 1.2 of the UGC Regulations 2018 applies them to universities, recognised constituent and affiliated colleges, and deemed universities, and a school is none of those. The route for higher study is study leave under Rules 50 to 63, or extraordinary leave where no other leave is admissible.
An officer of the All India Services has no sabbatical leave either. The All India Services (Leave) Rules 1955, as updated to 15 March 2008, carry no such head, and the instrument for extended study is the All India Services (Study Leave) Regulations 1960. The All India Services run on their own leave code rather than on the CCS (Leave) Rules, which is a distinction that matters on every leave question and not only this one.
An ordinary central government employee has three practical options for an extended absence, none of them a sabbatical. Study leave under Rules 50 to 63 is the first, for a recognised course, at full leave salary against a three-year bond. Extraordinary leave is the second, an unpaid absence granted when no other leave is admissible or when the employee applies for leave without pay, and it is the only one of the three with no ceiling tied to a course. Leave not due is the third and most limited, half pay leave granted in advance against leave the employee is expected to earn later.
Two adjacent instruments are frequently mistaken for a sabbatical and are not. Leave preparatory to retirement is earned leave from the employee’s own account taken immediately before retirement, so it spends a balance rather than creating an entitlement. Deputation is a posting to another organisation on foreign service terms, where the borrowing organisation pays and the employee works, which is the opposite of leave.
Application and sanction
Sabbatical leave is sanctioned by the authority named in the parent instrument, and no government department sanctions it. A university teacher applies through the head of the department, and the Executive Council or Syndicate sanctions the leave under the university Ordinance or Statute that adopts Clause 8.3 of the UGC Regulations 2018, which is also the body empowered by Clause 8.3(iv) to sanction on reduced pay and allowances where the teacher receives a fellowship or honorarium.
An ICAR scientist applies in the proforma at the annexure to Chapter 21 and furnishes a letter of acceptance from the host organisation for the proposed study, research, training or teaching relevant to the mandate of ICAR or the State Agricultural University. The institution forwards the application with its recommendations to ICAR headquarters at least four to six months in advance, along with the host institution’s undertaking, and the Director-General, ICAR sanctions it. A CSIR scientist furnishes the host institution’s letter of acceptance and the undertaking under Section 17.5, and applications are routed by the laboratory to CSIR where the sabbatical is to be spent outside the country.
The obligation does not end when the leave does. Both the CSIR and the ICAR schemes require a detailed report on the work done and the objectives accomplished on completion of the leave, and a CSIR scientist who does not return to duty, or who resigns within three years of rejoining, refunds the salary drawn during the year.
Common errors
Treating sabbatical leave as a general entitlement is the first error, and the CCS (Leave) Rules 1972 settle it: there is no such head, and the study-oriented leave for a central government employee is study leave under Rules 50 to 63.
Describing UGC sabbatical leave and study leave as permanently mutually exclusive is the second, and it reads the 2010 Regulations rather than the 2018 Regulations. Clause 8.3(ii) of the 2018 Regulations disentitles a teacher who has availed study leave only until five years have expired from the date of return.
Citing the UGC sabbatical provision as Clause 10.3 is the third. The clause is 8.3 in both the 2010 and the 2018 Regulations, sitting under the head 8.0, Duty leave, study leave, sabbatical leave, with 8.1 duty leave, 8.2 study leave and 8.4 other kinds of leave. Clause 10.0 of the 2010 Regulations is counting of past services for direct recruitment and promotion, a different subject entirely.
Expecting a sabbatical every few years is the fourth. The UGC ceiling is two years across a whole career, CSIR grants it once in six years, ICAR once in ten years and twice in a career, and the IIT statutes cap it at three times in the entire service.
Assuming the conditions are common across the four schemes is the fifth, and it is the costliest for a scientist near the end of service. ICAR requires five years of service remaining after the leave, CSIR requires three, and the UGC Regulations and the IIT statutes state no residual-service condition at all. Carrying a figure across from a neighbouring scheme is how an application is refused.
Applicability
Sabbatical leave applies to four populations, each under its own instrument. University and college teachers are covered by Clause 8.3 of the UGC Regulations 2018 as adopted in the ordinance of their university, which by Clause 1.2 reaches universities established under a Central, Provincial or State Act, recognised constituent and affiliated colleges, and deemed universities. Scientists of CSIR are covered by Section 17.5 of the CSIR rules. Scientists of the Agricultural Research Service are covered by Chapter 21 of the ICAR Administrative Manual. Faculty of the IITs are covered by Statute 27 of the First Statutes, 2017 framed under the Institutes of Technology Act, 1961.
Every other employee in the central space is outside all four. Central government employees under the CCS (Leave) Rules 1972, school teachers under Kendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan and the Navodaya system, and officers of the All India Services under the All India Services (Leave) Rules 1955 have no sabbatical entitlement, and their route for extended study is study leave under Rules 50 to 63 or, for All India Services officers, the All India Services (Study Leave) Regulations 1960.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Is sabbatical leave available to all central government employees?
Which rule of the CCS (Leave) Rules 1972 governs sabbatical leave?
How long is sabbatical leave for a university teacher?
Can a teacher who has taken study leave still get sabbatical leave?
Is sabbatical leave on full pay, and does it count for pension?
What is sabbatical leave for a CSIR scientist?
Can a CSIR scientist use a sabbatical to work with industry?
Do ICAR scientists get sabbatical leave?
Do IIT faculty get sabbatical leave?
Can a teacher on sabbatical leave take another job?
How is sabbatical leave different from study leave?
Do Kendriya Vidyalaya or Navodaya school teachers get sabbatical leave?
Do IAS and other All India Services officers get sabbatical leave?
Who sanctions sabbatical leave?
Is sabbatical leave debited to the leave account?
Related Articles
- Study leave
- Extraordinary leave
- Leave not due
- Earned leave
- Half pay leave
- Commuted leave
- Casual leave
- Child care leave
- Paternity leave
- Maternity leave for government employees
- Quarantine leave
- Hospital leave
- Special disability leave
- Vacation department leave
- Leave encashment
- Leave salary
- Study allowance
- CCS (Leave) Rules 1972
- Qualifying service
- Annual increment
- Probation in central government
- Leave preparatory to retirement
- Deputation of central government employees
- Foreign service
- All India Services
- University Grants Commission (UGC)
- Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)
- Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR)
- Indian Institutes of Technology
- Central universities
- Kendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan
- Navodaya Vidyalaya Samiti
- Department of Personnel and Training
- Central government employees in India
- Central government pension
- 7th Central Pay Commission
External references
- University Grants Commission
- UGC Regulations 2018, notified 18 July 2018
- Council of Scientific and Industrial Research
- Indian Council of Agricultural Research
- Department of Personnel and Training, CCS (Leave) Rules 1972
- Department of Personnel and Training
References
- Central Civil Services (Leave) Rules, 1972, as compiled by the Department of Personnel and Training: the rules carry no head of sabbatical leave across Rules 1 to 66. Rule 45 is special disability leave, Rule 49 departmental leave, and Rules 50 to 63 in Chapter VI are study leave.
- CCS (Leave) Rules, 1972, Rule 50 (special course of higher studies or specialised training; probation completed and not less than five years of regular continuous service; bar where retirement falls within three years of the expected return; undertaking to serve three years), Rule 51 (ordinarily 12 months at a time and 24 months in the entire service, inclusive of similar leave under other rules), Rule 53 (execution of the bond), Rule 54 (study leave not debited to the leave account; total absence in combination limited to 28 months generally and 36 months for a PhD course) and Rule 63 (resignation or retirement after study leave, and non-completion of the course).
- University Grants Commission (Minimum Qualifications for Appointment of Teachers and other Academic Staff in Universities and Colleges and other Measures for the Maintenance of Standards in Higher Education) Regulations, 2018, No. F.1-2/2017(EC/PS), notified 18 July 2018, Gazette of India, Extraordinary, Part III Section 4, No. 271: Clause 1.2 (application), Clause 8.2(iii) and 8.2(xiv) (study leave for entry-level appointees; bond) and Clause 8.3(i) to (v) (sabbatical leave: seven years as Reader, Associate Professor or Professor; one year at a time and two years in a career; five-year bar after study leave; full pay and allowances; bar on regular appointment; increment on the due date and the period counted for pension or contributory provident fund).
- UGC Regulations, 2010, No. F.3-1/2009 dated 30 June 2010, Clause 8.3(iii): the superseded drafting, which stated a flat disentitlement after study leave with the five-year period in a separate proviso, and Clause 10.0, counting of past services.
- Council of Scientific and Industrial Research, Section 17.5, Grant of sabbatical leave: rules approved by the Governing Body at its 124th meeting on 24 September 1991, circulated by CSIR-HRDG letter No. CSIR/SK/SL/91 dated 16 December 1991 (Scientists C and above with six years of service; once in six years; maximum one year; three years of residual service; full salary and allowances; treated as period spent on duty without travelling allowance; no combination with other leave; undertaking and refund on resignation within three years).
- Council of Scientific and Industrial Research, Section 17.5.2: Governing Body decision at its 131st meeting on 29 July 1993 on the recommendations of the Mashelkar Committee on marketing the knowledge base, extending sabbatical leave to other activities in the innovation chain, communicated by CSIR letter No. CSIR/SK/SL/91/HRDG dated 13 July 1994.
- Indian Council of Agricultural Research, Administrative Manual, Chapter 21, Sabbatical Leave Rules (Senior Scale and above with six years of service in ICAR or a State Agricultural University; once in ten years; maximum one year and twice in a career; five years of residual service before superannuation; full salary and allowances treated as period spent on duty; lump sum up to Rs. 50,000 for travel where no fellowship is held; Director-General, ICAR as the competent authority).
- First Statutes of the Indian Institute of Technology Mandi, 2017, notification G.S.R. 975(E) dated 31 July 2017, framed under sections 26 and 27 of the Institutes of Technology Act, 1961 (59 of 1961): Statute 13 (kinds of leave admissible), Statute 25 (quarantine leave), Statute 27 (sabbatical leave: six years of continuous service; not more than three times in the entire service; objects; one year including vacations plus up to 120 days of earned leave; full salary without travelling allowance; bar on regular appointment; three-year bond) and Statute 28 (study leave).
- All India Services (Leave) Rules, 1955, as updated to 15 March 2008: the rules carry no head of sabbatical leave, and extended study for All India Services officers runs under the All India Services (Study Leave) Regulations, 1960.