8th CPC Fitment Factor

No 8th CPC fitment factor is official. The staff side demands 3.833, analysts project 1.8 to 2.86, and the 2015 precedent shows what a demand becomes.

The 8th CPC fitment factor is the multiplier that the 8th Central Pay Commission would apply to convert an employee’s current 7th Central Pay Commission basic pay into revised basic pay, and no such figure exists. The 8th Central Pay Commission was constituted by Department of Expenditure Resolution F. No. 01-01/2025-E.III(A) dated 3 November 2025 and has not reported; its 18-month window expires on 3 May 2027. Every figure in circulation is a demand tabled by a staff-side body or a projection by an analyst.

Three figures account for almost all the coverage. The Staff Side of the National Council of the Joint Consultative Machinery demanded 3.833 in a written memorandum on 14 April 2026, being the demanded minimum pay of Rs. 69,000 divided by the present Rs. 18,000. The 2.86 quoted everywhere as an analyst projection is nothing of the kind: it is an earlier verbal position of the same staff side, superseded by that memorandum. The band running from about 1.83 to 2.46 is brokerage and analyst modelling, built by multiplying a dearness-allowance neutralisation base of about 1.60 by an assumed real pay rise.

The nearest thing to a guide is what happened last time. In 2015 the same staff side sought a minimum pay of Rs. 26,000 against the Rs. 7,000 then in force, an implied multiple of about 3.71, and the 7th CPC recommended Rs. 18,000 and 2.57. The 2026 ask is close to a repeat of the 2015 ask in ratio terms, which makes the 2015 outcome the only empirical calibration available for a demand of this size.

This page sets out who is behind each figure, how each is built, and where the common account of the arithmetic goes wrong: a pay commission does not multiply a neutralisation base by a real increase to reach a fitment factor, it prices a need-based minimum pay and the multiple falls out as a ratio. For what a fitment factor is and how Rule 7 applies it, see the fitment factor reference; for the running status of the Commission, the 8th Pay Commission latest news and status tracker. The pay actually credited today is computed under the 7th CPC rules, and the 7th CPC salary calculator gives that in-force figure.

The figures in circulation

The table records each fitment factor being quoted, who is behind it, the basis on which it is built, and the minimum pay it implies when applied to the current Rs. 18,000 entry. Every row is a demand or a projection; none is a decision.

Fitment factorClaimantBasisImplied minimum payStatus
3.833National Council (JCM) Staff SideNeed-based minimum of Rs. 69,000 divided by Rs. 18,000Rs. 69,000Formal written demand (14 April 2026)
2.86Earlier verbal staff-side positionAykroyd need-based formula with a high real increaseAbout Rs. 51,480Reported verbal demand (2024 to 2025), superseded
About 2.05 to 2.10All India NPS Employees FederationWider family-unit count, grossing up December 2025 emolumentsAbout Rs. 36,900 to Rs. 37,800Reported federation estimate
About 1.83 to 2.46Brokerage and analyst estimatesDearness-allowance neutralisation plus a modest real riseAbout Rs. 32,940 to Rs. 44,280Press projection
About 1.92Former Finance Secretary (public remarks)Neutralisation with a small real increaseAbout Rs. 34,560Press projection
2.577th CPC (reference)Rs. 18,000 need-based minimum divided by the Rs. 7,000 then in forceRs. 18,000 (in force)Official, but describes the structure being replaced
About 3.71National Council (JCM) Staff Side, 2015Rs. 26,000 demanded divided by Rs. 7,000Rs. 26,000Demand refused; Rs. 18,000 granted

Two things stand out. The analyst estimates cluster in a band of roughly 1.83 to 2.46, all of them the same neutralisation base of about 1.60 multiplied by a different assumed real increase, so quoting a point inside that band means adopting somebody’s assumption. The staff-side 3.833 sits outside the band because it is built from a pay demand rather than from neutralisation, which is the method a pay commission itself uses. The last row is the one most often left out, and it is the most informative: the 2015 demand was built exactly as the 2026 demand is, and it was not granted.

The staff-side demand: 3.833

The headline demand comes from the National Council of the Joint Consultative Machinery, the recognised staff side, in the memorandum its Drafting Committee finalised in mid-April and submitted to the 8th CPC on 14 April 2026. It seeks a fitment factor of 3.833 and a minimum pay of Rs. 69,000, along with a doubling of the annual increment from 3% to 6%.

The 3.833 is not an independently chosen multiplier. It is Rs. 69,000 divided by the current Rs. 18,000 minimum pay. The staff side arrived at Rs. 69,000 by recomputing the need-based minimum through an updated Aykroyd formula, the 15th Indian Labour Conference method that prices a balanced diet and a family’s essential needs, and its computation departs from the 7th CPC’s on almost every input: a five-consumption-unit family including the employee’s parents against the Commission’s three units, an Indian Council of Medical Research based norm of 3,490 calories a day against the conference’s 2,700, housing at 7.5% against 3%, 20% for fuel, electricity and water, 25% for skill, 25% for the sixth component the Supreme Court directed in Reptakos Brett in 1991, and a further 5% for technology and connectivity. Each change raises the total, and together they turn Rs. 18,000 into Rs. 69,000.

The memorandum also seeks the annual increment doubled from 3% to 6%, house rent allowance at 40%, 35% and 30% for X, Y and Z cities against the present 30%, 20% and 10%, the maximum pay pegged at Rs. 2,15,000, at least five promotions in a 30-year career, and restoration of the Old Pension Scheme.

Calling 3.833 an outlier misdescribes it. It is derived exactly as the 7th CPC derived its own 2.57, by dividing a costed need-based minimum by the minimum in force, and it is the analyst band that uses a different method. What makes 3.833 unlikely is not its construction but its size: it implies a real pay increase of about 140% once neutralisation is stripped out, against a historical maximum of 54%. The Confederation of Central Government Employees and Workers and the railway federations have pressed broadly similar cases, though a single agreed figure across all federations has not been tabled.

Origin of the 2.86 figure

The 2.86 quoted everywhere as the analyst projection is a staff-side statement, and mislabelling it is the single most common error in the coverage. It is not a projection, and it is not the figure in the April 2026 memorandum.

The 2.86 traces to public remarks by Shiva Gopal Mishra, Secretary of the Staff Side of the National Council (JCM), reported from 2024 into January 2025, that the staff side would seek a fitment factor of not less than 2.86. By early 2025 the same remarks had softened in public to a floor of at least 2.57, and the written memorandum of 14 April 2026 then escalated the ask to 3.833. So 2.86 is a verbal opening position that the union’s own formal demand superseded. It spread partly because 2.86 multiplied by Rs. 18,000 gives the round-sounding Rs. 51,480.

Because 2.86 sits at the top of the arithmetically plausible band, press and coaching coverage has kept using it as the optimistic scenario, and calculators often default to it. It is a useful upper bound for a what-if, but it is neither official nor the current staff-side demand, and quoting it as either is wrong.

The 2015 precedent

The staff side made a demand of almost the same size before the 7th CPC and did not get it, which is the only empirical guide to what the 2026 demand becomes. In 2015 the Staff Side of the National Council (JCM) sought a minimum pay of Rs. 26,000 as on 1 January 2014 against the Rs. 7,000 then in force, an implied multiple of about 3.71. The Commission recommended Rs. 18,000 and 2.57, and the government accepted both without revising them.

The 2015 demand was built by the same four departures the 2026 memorandum repeats. The staff side ran the seven Aykroyd components on retail prices from eight cities, applied the full 25% for education, medical care and recreation rather than the 15% the Commission used, took housing at the 7.5% conference norm rather than 3%, and argued for more than three consumption units. Those four changes are what lifted Rs. 18,000 to Rs. 26,000, and the 7th CPC declined each of them.

RoundMinimum pay demandedImplied multipleRecommendedFactor granted
7th CPC (2015)Rs. 26,000About 3.71Rs. 18,0002.57
8th CPC (2026)Rs. 69,0003.833Not reportedNot decided

The 2015 round settled at about 69% of the demanded multiple. Nothing obliges the 8th CPC to land in the same proportion, and the fiscal position and the terms of reference differ, so this is a precedent rather than a forecast. It does establish that a demand near 3.7 to 3.8 is the staff side’s normal opening rather than an unusual escalation, and that the last commission to receive one moved well below it.

Analyst and federation estimates

The analyst and federation estimates run from about 1.83 to 2.46, well below the staff-side demand of 3.833, because they are built from dearness-allowance neutralisation rather than from a costed need-based basket.

Brokerage houses have modelled the revision as dearness-allowance neutralisation plus a modest real rise. One institutional-equities estimate put the factor at about 1.8, with a revised minimum near Rs. 30,000 and a real increase of the order of 13%; another brokerage projected a range of about 1.83 to 2.46, implying a 30% to 34% rise in pay. A former Finance Secretary, in public remarks, put a realistic figure near 1.92 and called the higher union numbers unrealistic. These are estimates by market and policy analysts, reported in the press, not official positions.

The All India NPS Employees Federation has been reported to estimate a fitment factor of about 2.05 to 2.10. It reaches that by changing the need-based computation, raising the family-unit count to include dependent parents, and by grossing up the emoluments an entry employee actually drew in December 2025, basic pay plus dearness allowance at the 58% then in force under Office Memorandum No. 1/4(i)/2025-E.II(B) dated 6 October 2025, plus house-rent and transport allowance, into a single revised basic. This is an estimate associated with the federation in press coverage rather than a formal line-item demand of the kind the NC-JCM tabled; the federation’s headline ask is an assured pension for employees under the National Pension System rather than a specific fitment number.

Linked staff-side demands

Three further demands would each change the multiple or the pay it delivers, and they are why the union figure sits so far above the projections.

The first is the annual increment. The NC-JCM memorandum asks to double it from 3% to 6% a year. The increment does not enter the fitment factor itself, but it compounds every year after fixation, so a higher increment raises lifetime pay well beyond the one-off effect of the multiplier. The second is the merger of dearness allowance into basic pay before the revision. Staff-side bodies have long argued that once dearness allowance crosses 50% it should be merged, which would raise the neutralisation base from which the factor is built: merging a 50% dearness allowance would lift the base from 1.60 toward 2.10 or higher, and a similar real increase on that larger base yields a larger headline factor. The government’s position, stated in replies to Parliament in December 2025, is that there is no proposal to merge dearness allowance with basic pay, so the projections above assume no merger.

The third is the family-unit count in the need-based computation. The 7th CPC priced the minimum for a three-unit family. The NC-JCM demand widens this to five units and the All India NPS Employees Federation to about 4.4 by adding dependent parents, which raises the need-based minimum and therefore the implied factor. These are the levers behind the gap between a neutralisation-driven projection near 2.0 and a need-based demand of 3.833; the minimum pay page sets out how the underlying basket is priced.

How a pay commission fixes the multiple

A pay commission does not choose a fitment factor. It prices a need-based minimum pay, and the multiple falls out as the ratio of that figure to the minimum pay already in force. Getting this the right way round matters, because almost every projection in circulation reverses it.

Paragraph 4.2.9 of the 7th CPC report records that the cost computed through the seven steps of the Aykroyd formula exercise was rounded to Rs. 18,000, “which is 2.57 times the minimum pay of Rs. 7,000 fixed by the government while implementing the VI CPC’s recommendations from 01.01.2006”, and that basic pay at every level would accordingly be multiplied by 2.57. The 2.57 is that ratio and nothing else. Rs. 18,000 divided by Rs. 7,000 is 2.5714, printed as 2.57.

The same paragraph then takes the figure apart after the fact. Of the 2.57, a component of 2.25 provides for merging basic pay with dearness allowance assumed at 125% on 1 January 2016, being basic pay of 1.00 plus dearness allowance of 1.25, and does no more than preserve purchasing power. Dividing 2.57 by 2.25 leaves 1.1429, the residual real increase of 14.29% that the Union Cabinet decision of 29 June 2016 also recorded. The decomposition is a reading of the answer, not the route to it.

That distinction changes how the circulating figures should be read. The staff-side 3.833 is not a methodological outlier: it is built the same way the 7th CPC’s own 2.57 was built, as a need-based minimum divided by the minimum in force. The analyst band is the one using a different method, reconstructing a plausible outcome from the neutralisation arithmetic rather than from a costed basket. Both are legitimate ways to estimate, but only the first is what the Commission will actually do.

Real increase granted by each commission

The real increase, not the headline multiple, is the figure to test any projection against, and paragraph 4.2.9 of the 7th CPC report tabulates what each commission granted over the previously fixed minimum pay.

CommissionReal increase over the previous minimum pay
2nd CPC14.2%
3rd CPC20.6%
4th CPC27.6%
5th CPC31.0%
6th CPC54.0%
7th CPC14.3%

The 6th CPC’s 54% is the highest in the series and is why employee expectations of a pay commission run high; the 7th CPC’s 14.3% is the smallest apart from the 2nd CPC’s, and it is what the employee associations pressed hardest in their representations. A projected 8th CPC factor implying a real increase far outside this range is asserting something no commission has done. The staff-side 3.833 implies a real increase of about 140% on a 1.60 base, which has no precedent in the table above; the 2.86 at the top of the press band implies about 79%, still well beyond the 6th CPC’s 54%.

Why the projections cluster below 2.57

The analyst band sits under the 7th CPC’s 2.57 because dearness allowance is far lower at this changeover than at the last one, and the projections are built from dearness allowance rather than from a costed basket.

When the 7th CPC took effect on 1 January 2016, dearness allowance stood at 125%, so folding it into basic pay took a multiple of 2.25 on its own. Dearness allowance is 60% of basic pay with effect from 1 January 2026 under Office Memorandum F. No. 1/1(i)/2026-E.II(B) dated 22 April 2026, so the equivalent base at this changeover is about 1.60. Less accumulated dearness allowance to absorb means a smaller headline multiple for the same real pay rise. The projected figures follow from multiplying that 1.60 by an assumed real increase:

Real increaseMultipleNeutralisation baseProjected factor
About 15%1.151.60About 1.84
About 20%1.201.60About 1.92
About 44%1.441.60About 2.30
About 54%1.541.60About 2.46
About 79%1.791.60About 2.86

Every figure in the press band is one row of this table, which is why the band is wide: the modelling is identical and only the assumed real increase differs. The 1.83 to 2.46 range corresponds to real increases of roughly 15% to 54%, spanning almost the entire historical spread from the 2nd CPC to the 6th. The staff-side 3.833 does not appear in the table at all, because it was not built from the 1.60 base.

One caveat applies to the whole table. It assumes the dearness-allowance base stays at 1.60, and it will not: the base moves with every half-yearly revision before implementation, so a factor fixed in 2027 will be read against a higher base than today’s.

Effect on pay under each scenario

A fitment factor multiplies existing basic pay, so its effect is straightforward to illustrate, but the product is not the resulting pay: under Rule 7 of the CCS (Revised Pay) Rules, 2016 the multiplied figure is rounded up to the nearest cell of the revised pay matrix, and no revised matrix exists. The figures below are current basic pay times a scenario factor, shown to make the debate concrete.

Current basic payFactor 1.92Factor 2.57Factor 2.86Factor 3.833
Rs. 18,000 (Level 1 entry)Rs. 34,560Rs. 46,260Rs. 51,480Rs. 68,994
Rs. 35,400 (Level 6 entry)Rs. 67,968Rs. 90,978Rs. 1,01,244Rs. 1,35,688
Rs. 56,100 (Level 10 entry)Rs. 1,07,712Rs. 1,44,177Rs. 1,60,446Rs. 2,15,031

Two cautions apply to every cell. First, a larger fitment factor does not translate into a proportionally larger take-home rise, because most of the multiplier is neutralisation: it converts dearness allowance the employee is already drawing into basic pay, and on implementation the dearness-allowance counter resets to zero. The real gain is the smaller component layered on top. Second, these are illustrations, not entitlements. To model a scenario against your own basic pay, the 8th CPC salary calculator applies a factor you choose and labels the output as a what-if; for your actual, in-force pay, the 7th CPC salary calculator uses the current rules.

What could move the number, and when

Two things between now and the report will shape the eventual factor. The first is the dearness allowance at the changeover. Every half-yearly revision before implementation raises the base that neutralisation has to cover: the revision due from 1 July 2026 has not been notified as on 10 August 2026 and points to about 63% on the running 12-month AICPI-IW average, which would lift the base from about 1.60 to 1.63, and the revisions due in 2027 would raise it again. A higher base at the changeover mechanically raises the headline factor for the same real increase, which is one reason a figure fixed in 2027 could land above a projection built on today’s 60%. The expected DA tracker follows that changeover figure.

The second is the Commission’s own judgement on the real increase, the component that is policy rather than arithmetic. That is where the consultations, the staff-side memoranda and the fiscal position bear, and it is the part no projection can pin down. The decision path is fixed even though the number is not. The Commission’s 18-month window expires on 3 May 2027; the Union Cabinet then accepts or modifies the recommendation; and revised rules are notified, as the CCS (Revised Pay) Rules, 2016 were about eight months after the 7th CPC reported. Only at that last step does a fitment factor become official. The running status of each step is tracked on the 8th Pay Commission latest news and status page.

What is official

Nothing about the 8th CPC fitment factor is official. The Commission, constituted by Department of Expenditure Resolution F. No. 01-01/2025-E.III(A) dated 3 November 2025 under Justice Ranjana Prakash Desai with Prof. Pulak Ghosh as part-time member and Shri Pankaj Jain as member-secretary, is in its consultation phase and has not submitted a report. At its meeting with the Standing Committee of the National Council (JCM) on 28 April 2026 its response to the staff-side demands was noncommittal.

As on 10 August 2026 the Commission has closed its deadline for stakeholder memoranda, which fell on 15 June 2026, and has held outstation sittings from Dehradun in April through Bhubaneswar and Kolkata in July 2026, with interactions at Delhi on 7 and 10 August 2026 and further visits notified to Jaipur, Chennai, Puducherry and Chandigarh through September 2026. None of that produces a figure. Answering Rajya Sabha Unstarred Question No. 1036 on 28 July 2026, the government stated that the terms of reference do not require the Commission to keep it updated on its progress or on the recommendations contemplated, so there is no mechanism by which a partial or interim fitment factor would emerge before the report itself.

The government has made no statement on the fitment factor. Its only related position is that, in replies to Parliament in December 2025, it stated there is no proposal to merge dearness allowance with basic pay, which matters because a merger would change the base from which any projected factor is built. The fitment factor will be settled only when the Commission reports, by 3 May 2027, and the Union Cabinet accepts or modifies its recommendation and revised rules are notified. Until then the arithmetic above frames the debate, but the number remains a decision that has not been taken.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

What fitment factor is the staff side demanding for the 8th Pay Commission?
The National Council (JCM) Staff Side, in its memorandum submitted on 14 April 2026, demands a fitment factor of 3.833 together with a minimum pay of Rs. 69,000. The 3.833 is derived from that pay demand: Rs. 69,000 divided by the current Rs. 18,000 minimum is about 3.833. It is a demand tabled before the Commission, not a decision.
Is 2.86 the official 8th CPC fitment factor?
No. No official 8th CPC fitment factor exists, because the Commission has not reported. The 2.86 figure comes from earlier verbal remarks by the NC-JCM Staff Side Secretary in 2024, later softened in public to at least 2.57, and superseded by the written demand of 3.833 in the April 2026 memorandum. Press and coaching sites reuse 2.86 as an upper scenario, but it is neither official nor the formal staff-side figure.
How is the 3.833 fitment factor calculated?
The staff side first computed a need-based minimum pay of Rs. 69,000 a month, using an updated Aykroyd need-based formula with a wider family unit and the heads the Supreme Court directed in the Reptakos Brett case. Dividing that Rs. 69,000 by the existing Rs. 18,000 minimum gives about 3.833. So 3.833 is minimum-pay-driven, not built from dearness-allowance neutralisation, which is why it sits above the analyst projections.
Why is the 8th CPC fitment factor expected to be lower than 2.57?
Because the analyst projections are built from dearness-allowance neutralisation, and dearness allowance is far lower now than in 2016. In 2016 it stood at 125%, so the neutralisation base was 2.25. Dearness allowance is 60% with effect from 1 January 2026, giving a base of about 1.60, and multiplying that by an assumed real increase of 15% to 54% yields roughly 1.84 to 2.46. That reasoning describes the size of the outcome, not the method: a pay commission fixes a need-based minimum pay first, and the multiple falls out as the ratio to the existing minimum.
How does a pay commission actually fix the fitment factor?
It does not choose a multiple and justify it afterwards. Paragraph 4.2.9 of the 7th CPC report records that the Aykroyd need-based costing was rounded to Rs. 18,000, “which is 2.57 times the minimum pay of Rs. 7,000 fixed by the government while implementing the VI CPC’s recommendations from 01.01.2006”. The 2.57 is that ratio. The same paragraph then decomposes it into 2.25 of dearness-allowance neutralisation and a residual real increase of 14.29%. The decomposition is a reading of the result, not the route to it, which is why the staff-side 3.833 is built the same way the 7th CPC’s own figure was.
What happened the last time the staff side demanded a fitment factor?
In 2015 the National Council (JCM) Staff Side sought a minimum pay of Rs. 26,000 as on 1 January 2014 against the Rs. 7,000 then in force, an implied multiple of about 3.71. The 7th CPC recommended Rs. 18,000 and a factor of 2.57, and the government accepted those figures without revising them. The 2026 demand of Rs. 69,000 and 3.833 is close to the same ask in ratio terms, so the 2015 outcome is the nearest available calibration for what a demand of that size becomes.
What real increase has each pay commission actually granted?
Paragraph 4.2.9 of the 7th CPC report tabulates the real increase over the previously fixed minimum pay: 14.2% by the 2nd CPC, 20.6% by the 3rd, 27.6% by the 4th, 31.0% by the 5th, 54.0% by the 6th and 14.3% by the 7th. The 6th CPC’s 54% is the highest in the series. That table is the check to apply to any projected 8th CPC factor, because a projection implying a real increase far outside this range is asserting something no commission has done.
What would a fitment factor of 2.57 or 2.86 mean for my salary?
Applied to the Rs. 18,000 minimum, a factor of 2.57 gives about Rs. 46,260 and 2.86 gives about Rs. 51,480; 3.833 gives about Rs. 69,000. The same multiplier applies to any basic pay, rounded up to the nearest cell of the revised matrix. These are illustrations of old basic pay times a scenario factor, not official figures, because no revised pay matrix exists. Your actual current pay is computed under the 7th CPC rules.
What is the AINPSEF fitment factor proposal?
The All India NPS Employees Federation has been reported to estimate a fitment factor of about 2.05 to 2.10, derived by changing the need-based family-unit count and grossing up the December 2025 emoluments. It is an estimate associated with the federation in press coverage, not a formal line-item demand in the way the NC-JCM 3.833 is. The federation’s headline ask is an assured pension under the National Pension System.
Has the government announced an 8th CPC fitment factor?
No. The 8th Central Pay Commission was constituted on 3 November 2025 and is in its consultation phase; it has not submitted a report, and neither the Commission nor the government has stated any fitment factor. Its response to the staff side at the first meeting on 28 April 2026 was noncommittal. Every fitment factor in circulation is a demand or a projection.
When will the 8th CPC fitment factor be decided?
The Commission’s 18-month window from its constitution on 3 November 2025 expires on 3 May 2027. The fitment factor is fixed only when the Commission submits its report, the Union Cabinet accepts or modifies it, and revised rules are notified; the CCS (Revised Pay) Rules, 2016 followed the 7th CPC report by about eight months. Answering Rajya Sabha Unstarred Question No. 1036 on 28 July 2026, the government stated that the terms of reference do not require the Commission to keep it updated on the recommendations contemplated, so no partial figure is due before the report.
Would merging dearness allowance into basic pay raise the fitment factor?
It would raise the neutralisation base the factor is built on, but no merger is proposed. Merging a 50% dearness allowance would lift the base from about 1.60 toward 2.10, and a similar real increase on that larger base gives a larger headline multiple. In replies to Parliament in December 2025 the government stated there is no proposal to merge dearness allowance with basic pay, so the projections in circulation assume no merger.
Does a higher fitment factor mean a proportionally higher take-home rise?
No. Most of any fitment factor is neutralisation: it converts dearness allowance the employee already draws into basic pay, and on implementation the dearness-allowance counter resets to zero. The 7th CPC’s 2.57 did not raise pay by 157%; the real increase embedded in it was 14.29%. The same applies to every 8th CPC figure in circulation, so the multiple on its own says little about the money in hand.

External references

References

  1. National Council (JCM) Staff Side memorandum to the 8th Central Pay Commission, submitted 14 April 2026, seeking a fitment factor of 3.833 and a minimum pay of Rs. 69,000.
  2. Report of the Seventh Central Pay Commission (submitted 19 November 2015), paragraph 4.2.9, deriving Rs. 18,000 from the Aykroyd costing, recording that it is 2.57 times the Rs. 7,000 minimum fixed after the 6th CPC, decomposing 2.57 into 2.25 of dearness-allowance neutralisation and a real increase of 14.29%, and tabulating the real increase granted by each commission from the 2nd to the 7th.
  3. Report of the Seventh Central Pay Commission, paragraph 5.1.27, on the uniform application of the fitment factor of 2.57 to all employees.
  4. Central Civil Services (Revised Pay) Rules, 2016 (gazette notification dated 25 July 2016), Rule 7, on pay fixation and rounding up to the next cell of the pay matrix.
  5. Union Cabinet decision of 29 June 2016, recording a rise in pay and pension of at least 14.29% as on 1 January 2016.
  6. Ministry of Finance, Department of Expenditure, Resolution F. No. 01-01/2025-E.III(A), dated 3 November 2025, constituting the 8th Central Pay Commission and fixing its 18-month reporting window.
  7. Ministry of Finance, Department of Expenditure, Office Memorandum No. 1/1(i)/2026-E.II(B), dated 22 April 2026, revising dearness allowance to 60% with effect from 1 January 2026.
  8. Ministry of Finance, Department of Expenditure, Office Memorandum No. 1/4(i)/2025-E.II(B), dated 6 October 2025, revising dearness allowance to 58% with effect from 1 July 2025.
  9. Rajya Sabha Unstarred Question No. 1036, answered 28 July 2026, on the terms of reference and reporting obligations of the 8th Central Pay Commission.
  10. Lok Sabha written replies of the Minister of State for Finance, December 2025, stating there is no proposal to merge dearness allowance with basic pay.